Uncategorized

Landen Lately: First Day of Preschool

Yesterday was a hard day for this mom.  I knew this day would come, but I had no idea it would come this fast. After meeting his teacher, visiting his classroom, and getting him adjusted before the first day, I felt a little better.  But just a little bit.

Yesterday started as a normal day; both boys up and dressed and eating breakfast together.  Landen's school bus is to pick him up and drop back off at his daycare, which works perfectly for my work schedule.  However, for some reason, this was the scariest part for me!

img_6683

He woke up excited!  Which, if you have a night owl like Landen, you know mornings are never exciting.  Ever!

I was doing just fine.  It felt just like a normal morning, normal routine, like any other day.  We took Nolan inside to his daycare, and then we waited by the road for his school bus.  Nate couldn't be there with us due to work, so he asked that I record when the bus picked him up.  Now this is where Mom's issues started.

As soon as the bus pulled up, stopped and opened it's doors, Landen started running towards it.  Yes.  Running.  

I can't begin to explain how excited he was.  He was so ready for school.  When did my baby become such a big kid?  How did this all happen so fast?  Where did all the time go?

img_6682

Now every time I watch that video of him running up to the bus, I get a little teary-eyed.  Teary-eyed because I am overjoyed at his excitement.  Teary-eyed because he looks like he woke up two years older.  Teary-eyed because Mom feels a little less needed.

I couldn't wait to pick him up.  I will admit, I took off early from work just so I could be there for the bus again in the afternoon.  It was such an exciting time for him that I wanted to witness the entire day, and also to get started with our brand new first-day-of-school-tradition.

The boys and I took off to the super-market in search of the best cookies we could find. Now, when you tell the toddler he is in charge of picking out the cookies, he is now on a mission!  I'm also sure that when he realized he was in charge, he grew two inches.  Again.  Ugh!

img_6686

We picked out our cookies and headed home to hear all about his first day.  We set the camera up to record his interview, and talked about all the events that happened throughout the day.  I learned about his new friend, Cooper, and about rest-time, and also about the playground.  His favorite part was, of course, riding the bus.  And how excited he is to get to go back.  My favorite part of the video is the excitement in his eyes as he is telling me these things.  Something I think I could watch a million times over!

img_6691.png

And here's Landen at his very first recess enjoying the swings. His teacher uses an App for the parents to join to see pictures, activities, and have classroom discussions.  We love this!

Also, if you haven't entered my awesome toothpaste GIVEAWAY, you can HERE!!

img_6627-2

Leave a Reply

