Uncategorized

Going Out On a Limb

I recently learned that my 5 month old son is a social butterfly.  I, on the other hand, am the exact opposite.  I’d like to blame it on maternity leave, and only talking “baby talk” for a good 11 weeks.  But, that’s not entirely true.  I have major issues with making new friends.  I struggle with putting myself out there, and being open to meeting new people.

I decided to sign us up for some fun activities at our local library.  Why not be involved?  Landen loves interacting with other kids, and I think it will be healthy for him, too.  So, we have a date on Wednesdays for “Wiggle Giggle” and every other Tuesday for “Babies and Books.” We went to the Wiggle Giggle session this week, and Landen loved it.  It was such a good feeling to see him laugh and smile while watching the bigger kids jump and dance.  Even though a lot of the activities were more for the older babies/kids, he stood with me in the back and watched (and stomped his little feet).  It was fun for both of us.

I’m slowly taking steps to making myself more social, as well.  I need more mom friends!!  I went out on a limb yesterday (this is new for me) and invited a somewhat stranger over to my house.  What?!?!  Ok, she’s not really a stranger, but pretty close!  She was really nice, and brought her son Xavier to play with Landen.  She’s also teaching me to be more frugal (my new favorite word) and how to use coupons.  I think I’m getting addicted!

go outon a limb
Photo Credit: aboutmarktwain,com

4 thoughts on “Going Out On a Limb

  1. Good for you:-)
    I have to admit, I can relate quite a bit. But I’ve been lucky since I am one of the last of my friends to have kids so in some ways being social is a little easier now that I get invited to things again. But it is tough sometimes to put yourself out there and make new friends as a new mom.

  2. Go Momma!! I’m the exact same way…I prefer to steer clear of all those…mom and baby groups and such but maybe I’ll have to give one a shot!?

    1. It’s actually not that bad. It’s really nice to see them be around other kids, which Landen doesn’t get a lot of. But then I can talk someone’s face off since I don’t have much adult interaction lol

Leave a Reply

